New Editor Introduction

Let me introduce myself.

My craft name is Rowan (AKA Laura Liles).  Just Rowan, although I do identify myself as Rowan of Our Lady of the Woods to distinguish myself from all the other Rowans in the Craft, and in the Covenant.  I’m now the editor of the Social Justice Blog.  I’ve been a member of the Coven of Our Lady of the Woods since 1991, and am a third degree initiate of the Ladywoods tradition.

I was born and raised in a suburb of New Orleans, Louisiana at the tail end of the Jim Crow era, but somehow it didn’t take.  I’m still not sure why.  After spending twelve years in Catholic school, I went away to college, first in Atlanta, Georgia and then in El Paso, Texas, where my then-husband was stationed in the Army.  I’ve lived in Los Alamos, New Mexico since 1974.

I’m interested in whatever social justice issues the membership wishes to discuss.  Some topics I hope to write on myself in the coming weeks are:

  • Statements issued by CoG Local Councils on particular issues
  • When People You Love Hold Views You Hate
  • Issues of Consent in a Sex Positive Community
  • Adventures as a Pagan in Politics

Do you have subjects you’d like to address?  Send your ideas and submissions to me at lliles@aol.com.

Rowan

 

Leave a comment